Course Offerings

Spring 2024


Last Refreshed: 01-MAR-24 05.20.24.480094 AM
To view current class enrollment click the refresh icon next to the enrollment numbers.
Link Term Campus Subj Cat # Course Title Sect Instruction Mode Instructor Location Schedule Enrollment Credits Notes
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 1000 Introduction to Latina/o Studies 001 P - In Person Aldana Marquez, Beatriz
Chen, Menglu
Nino, Levinson
ITE C80 TuTh 2:00pm‑3:15pm
86/100 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 1000 Introduction to Latina/o Studies 005 OS - Online Synchronous Nieves, Bethsaida No Room Required - Online MoWe 4:40pm‑5:55pm
26/25 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 1009 Latino Literature, Culture, and Society 001 OA - Online Asynchronous Tennyson, Michelle
Perez Pe?a, Melissa
No Room Required - Online 20/20 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 1009W Latino Literature, Culture, and Society 001 HB - Hybrid Pena Alicea, Glorimarie GENT 246 We 4:40pm‑5:55pm
10/10 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 1190 Introduction to Latin America and the Caribbean 001 P - In Person Fernandez, Rodolfo GENT 131 TuTh 11:00am‑11:50am
50/50
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 1190 Introduction to Latin America and the Caribbean 001D P - In Person Palacio Cano, Maria
Fernandez, Rodolfo
JRB 204 Fr 11:15am‑12:05pm
13/13 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 1190 Introduction to Latin America and the Caribbean 002D P - In Person da Conceicao dos Santos, Apoliana
Fernandez, Rodolfo
MCHU 107 Fr 11:15am‑12:05pm
12/12 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 1190 Introduction to Latin America and the Caribbean 003D P - In Person Palacio Cano, Maria
Fernandez, Rodolfo
JRB 204 Fr 12:20pm‑1:10pm
13/13 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 1190 Introduction to Latin America and the Caribbean 004D P - In Person da Conceicao dos Santos, Apoliana
Fernandez, Rodolfo
MCHU 111 Fr 12:20pm‑1:10pm
12/12 3.00
Spring 2024 Waterbury LLAS 1190 Introduction to Latin America and the Caribbean 331 P - In Person Lambe, Ariel WTBY 326 TuTh 11:00am‑12:15pm
3/10 3.00
Spring 2024 Avery Point LLAS 1190 Introduction to Latin America and the Caribbean 660 P - In Person Contreras, Paulo ACD 208 TuTh 2:00pm‑3:15pm
5/15 3.00
Spring 2024 Hartford LLAS 1190 Introduction to Latin America and the Caribbean 701 P - In Person Contreras, Paulo HSSW 113 TuTh 9:30am‑10:45am
5/15 3.00
Spring 2024 Stamford LLAS 1190 Introduction to Latin America and the Caribbean 881 OS - Online Synchronous Salazar-Rey, Ricardo No Room Required - Online TuTh 12:30pm‑1:45pm
25/25 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 1190W Introduction to Latin America and the Caribbean 001 P - In Person Fernandez, Rodolfo MONT 227 TuTh 3:30pm‑4:45pm
10/10 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 2001 Latinos, Leadership and Mentoring 001 P - In Person Gebelein, Anne SU 438 TuTh 2:00pm‑3:15pm
25/25 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 2011W Introduction to Latino-American Writing and Research 001 P - In Person Nieves, Bethsaida MONT 421 MoWeFr 12:20pm‑1:10pm
24/19 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 2011W Introduction to Latino-American Writing and Research 002 P - In Person Nieves, Bethsaida MONT 113 MoWeFr 11:15am‑12:05pm
14/19 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 2450 Human Rights in Latin America 001 P - In Person Gebelein, Anne SHH 109 TuTh 12:30pm‑1:45pm
19/20 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 3021 Contemporary Latin America 001 P - In Person Mayer, Joshua BCH 443 MoWeFr 9:05am‑9:55am
2/10 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 3029 The Caribbean 001 P - In Person Shemer, Noga BCH 443 TuTh 11:00am‑12:15pm
7/10 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 3221 Latinos/as and Human Rights 001 OS - Online Synchronous Amador, Emma No Room Required - Online TuTh 11:00am‑12:15pm
15/15 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 3265 Literature of Puerto Rico and the Spanish Caribbean 001 HB - Hybrid Tennyson, Michelle SHH 301 MoWe 2:30pm‑3:20pm
10/12 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 3320 Media and Diverse Audiences 001 OA - Online Asynchronous Rios, Diana No Room Required - Online 20/20 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 3322 Soap Opera/Telenovela 001 OA - Online Asynchronous Rios, Diana No Room Required - Online 18/20 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 3525W Latino Sociology 001 OS - Online Synchronous Ramirez, Manuel No Room Required - Online MoWeFr 3:35pm‑4:25pm
9/9 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 3607 Latin America in the Colonial Period 001 P - In Person Fernandez, Rodolfo SHH 104 TuTh 6:00pm‑7:15pm
2/20 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 3998 Variable Topics in Latino and Latin American Studies 005 OS - Online Synchronous Oquendo, Angel No Room Required - Online We 4:00pm‑6:30pm
8/10 3.00
Spring 2024 Hartford LLAS 3998 Variable Topics in Latino and Latin American Studies 701 P - In Person Solis, Lorena HTB 147 TuTh 11:00am‑12:15pm
4/15 3.00 This course is designed as an introduction to the psychology of Latina/o/e people. Latina/o/e psychology is a branch of ethnic psychology that seeks to understand the influence of culture, language, and minority-majority group status on people of Latin American origin who reside in the U. S and Puerto Rico. In this course we will examine the ways gender, race, culture, nationality, and social class shape the psychology of Latinx in the United States. Throughout the course we will consider identity development as a psychological construct and will explore identity formation of individual Latinx as well as group identity for multiple sub-groups of Latina/o/e (e.g., Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, Dominican, etc.). Students will develop critical thinking skills in order to apply and analyze concepts relating to Latina/o/e psychology. Additionally, in this course, we will assess major and current issues related to the psychology of Latina/o/e.
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 3999 Independent Study in Latino and Latin American Studies 001 AR - By Arrangement Gebelein, Anne Class meetings by arrangement 1/5 1.00 - 6.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 4212 Field Internship in Latino Studies 001 AR - By Arrangement Gebelein, Anne Class meetings by arrangement 0/15 1.00 - 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 4212 Field Internship in Latino Studies 002 AR - By Arrangement Hannon, Fany Class meetings by arrangement 1/1 1.00 - 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 4212 Field Internship in Latino Studies 003 AR - By Arrangement Class meetings by arrangement 1/1 1.00 - 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 4994W Latin American Studies Research Seminar 001 P - In Person Gebelein, Anne JRB 240 We 12:20pm‑2:55pm
2/15 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 5000 Seminar in Latin American Studies 001 P - In Person Gebelein, Anne JRB 240 We 9:00am‑11:30am
1/1 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 5100 Comparative Transnational Latin(o) American History 001 P - In Person Amador, Emma MCHU 301 Tu 2:00pm‑5:00pm
7/10 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 5360 Latinos and U.S. Education 001 P - In Person Nieves, Bethsaida GENT 131 Th 5:00pm‑7:45pm
2/8 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 5890 Latin American Studies Project 001 AR - By Arrangement Furtado, Delia Class meetings by arrangement 1/1 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 5890 Latin American Studies Project 002 AR - By Arrangement Abadia, Cesar Class meetings by arrangement 2/2 3.00
Spring 2024 Storrs LLAS 5890 Latin American Studies Project 003 AR - By Arrangement Wallace, Scott Class meetings by arrangement 1/1 3.00

Faculty Contact Information

Bethsaida Nieves, binieves@uconn.edu

Rodolfo Fernandez, rodolfo.fernandez@uconn.edu

Emma Amador, emma.amador@uconn.edu

Anne Gebelein, anne.gebelein@uconn.edu

Diana Rios, diana.rios@uconn.edu

Charles Venator, charles.venator@uconn.edu

Michelle Tennyson, michelle.tennyson@uconn.edu

Manuel Ramirez, manuel.ramirez@uconn.edu

Paulo Contreras, paulo.contreras@uconn.edu

Ariel Lambe, ariel.lambe@uconn.edu

Ricardo Salazar-Rey, ricardo.salazar-rey@uconn.edu

Joshua Mayer, joshua.mayer@uconn.edu

Noga Shemer, noga.shemer@uconn.edu

Ángel Oquendo, angel.oquendo@uconn.edu

Lorena Solis, lorena.solis@uconn.edu

Scott Wallace, scott.wallace@uconn.edu

Delia Furtado, delia.furtado@uconn.edu